The Singapore Food Agency cleared Aleph Farms’ Cultivated Thin-Cut Steak on 4 August 2026. It is the second regulatory approval the company holds for cultivated beef, and the second that does not yet correspond to a product anyone can buy.
Israel issued the first in December 2023. Nearly three years later Aleph has still not sold a steak there, and the reason is not regulatory. It is that both clearances were attached to production arrangements the company has since replaced.
This is the part of the cultivated meat story that gets compressed into a single word — “approved” — and it is where the operating risk actually sits. An approval is a permission to sell something made a particular way, in a particular place. Change the place and the permission has to follow.
The two approvals, and what each was attached to
| Israel | Singapore | |
|---|---|---|
| Regulator | Israeli Ministry of Health (IMOH) | Singapore Food Agency (SFA) |
| Instrument | “No questions” letter, akin to an FDA no-questions letter | Novel food pre-market approval |
| Filed | Initial submission roughly mid-2022, after a pre-submission consultation; Green Queen described the process as “a year-and-a-half in the making” | September 2022 |
| Granted | December 2023, announced 17 January 2024 | 4 August 2026 |
| Product | Cultivated thin-cut Petit Steak, Aleph Cuts brand | Cultivated Thin-Cut Steak |
| Stated conditions | Labelling and marketing directions from IMOH, plus completion of a GMP inspection of the pilot production facility | Not publicly itemised in the coverage we read |
| Production route at grant | Rehovot pilot plant, Israel | Cell Agritech, Singapore, plus capacity in Penang |
| Production route now | Outsourced; Aleph is “in discussions with third parties to provide production services in Israel” | Cell Agritech, line targeted operational H1 2027 |
| Commercially on sale | No | No |
The Israeli row is the one worth reading twice. In January 2024 Yifat Gavriel, Aleph’s chief of regulatory affairs, described the clearance as granting permission to produce and market in Israel, “subject to specific directions for labelling and marketing provided by the Israeli Ministry of Health, and the completion of Good Manufacturing Practices inspection for our pilot production facility.”
That condition pointed at a specific building. In August 2026 Gavriel told Green Queen that the Rehovot site “had completed the preparations needed to support GMP” readiness and that “we were well-positioned to proceed there” — followed immediately by: “We have since moved to an outsourced manufacturing model, so the same GMP standards and regulatory expectations will apply to the partner site instead.”
So the GMP condition survives; the facility it was written against no longer holds the plan. Aleph has not disclosed which third party will run Israeli production, and until it does, the December 2023 approval has no line behind it.
Practical consequence: when a cultivated or fermentation-derived product is described as approved in a market, ask which facility the dossier named and whether the company still intends to produce there. A site change is not a formality — it re-opens the part of the file that regulators inspect.
The Singapore clock
Aleph filed with the SFA in September 2022. Approval came on 4 August 2026. That is roughly 47 months — our arithmetic, from a filing date published only to the month.
Both of our sources give September 2022, but attribute the statement differently: Green Queen quotes Gavriel saying “We submitted our application to the SFA in September 2022,” while FoodNavigator attributes essentially the same statement to VP Marketing Nicky Quinn. The date agrees; the speaker does not. We have used the date and named both.
Gavriel’s explanation of the duration is the more useful part: “Singapore was also the first jurisdiction in the world to establish a regulatory framework for cultivated meat, so this was a pioneering process rather than a product moving through an established pathway.” No regulator had previously assessed cultivated beef, so the file and the framework were built against each other.
Worth setting against a forecast from the same company. In January 2024, Aleph’s then senior marketing and communications manager Yoav Reisler said: “We expect to receive positive indications from the Singapore Food Agency soon.” It took a further two and a half years. That is not a criticism of Reisler — it is a calibration point for anyone reading a company’s own regulatory timeline guidance today.
The “sixth approval” claim needs one correction
Green Queen describes the clearance as the sixth cultivated meat product cleared in Singapore and says the city-state has now overtaken the US on authorised products. The count reconciles, but not the way the same publication’s own August list implies.
Its April 2026 write-up of the SFA’s published register — which covers approvals up to October 2025 — names four cultivated products on the list: Good Meat’s original cultivated chicken (2020, produced with fetal bovine serum), a second Good Meat approval in 2023 for a serum-free process, Vow’s cultured quail (April 2024), and Parima’s chicken (October 2025, developed by Vital Meat). Parima’s Gourmey-developed duck followed in April 2026. Add Aleph’s beef and the SFA total is six.
Two things fall out of that. First, the count depends on treating Good Meat’s two clearances as separate approvals, which the register does. Second, Friends & Family Pet Food Company’s cell-cultured Kampung bird ingredient — often listed alongside these — is not an SFA approval at all. Green Queen’s April piece states it falls under the remit of the Singapore Animal & Veterinary Service. Any tally that includes it is counting two regulators.
The US comparison is looser still. The companies cleared there are Upside Foods, Eat Just, Wildtype, Mission Barns and the now-defunct Believer Meats — five companies, against a Singapore figure counted in products. The bases differ, so the “overtaken” claim is directional rather than measured.
Practical consequence: national approval counts are not comparable without knowing whether the unit is a company, a product or a clearance event, and whether pet food and multiple process revisions are inside the count. All three choices are being made silently in the numbers currently circulating.
What was actually approved is 10–20% cultivated
The Thin-Cut Steak is a hybrid. It combines non-modified, non-immortalised cells from a premium Black Angus cow with a plant protein matrix made of soy and wheat, and will be sold under the Aleph Cuts brand. Apart from starter cells derived from one of the cow’s fertilised eggs, Aleph has stated there are no other animal-sourced components — no fetal bovine serum — in the cultivation process or final product.
FoodNavigator reports that Quinn disclosed the steak will contain between 10% and 20% cultivated beef. That is reported by the publication rather than given as a direct quote, and it is the single most commercially informative number in either article.
It reframes the capacity question. A production line making a product that is 10–20% cultivated cells needs roughly a fifth to a tenth of the cell mass that a wholly cultivated product of the same weight would require. Read the other way, it also means the launch volume tells you much less about cultivation capacity than a tonnage figure implies.
Pricing is not disclosed. Quinn: “We are not in a position to discuss pricing yet and this will be set closer to launch, with our foodservice partners.” In January 2024 Reisler said of the Israeli launch that “At the time of our soft launch, Aleph Cuts will be priced similarly to premium conventional beef.” Whether that positioning carries into Singapore is unstated.
Practical consequence: treat “cultivated” as a spectrum with a disclosed inclusion rate, not a binary. For formulation, procurement and cost modelling, the inclusion percentage is the number that matters, and Aleph is one of very few companies to have published one.
The manufacturing map keeps moving
Aleph’s production plan has changed repeatedly, and each change is documented.
- February 2022 — moved to a 65,000 sq ft plant in Rehovot, Israel, which increased capacity roughly sixfold, to an initial 10 tonnes of cultivated steak a year.
- 2023 — announced the acquisition of a further manufacturing facility in Modi’in, Israel, and a manufacturing agreement with ESCO Aster in Singapore, then the only approved industrial manufacturer for cultivated meat.
- Early 2026 — set up a Singapore entity as its Asia-Pacific hub and partnered with contract manufacturer Cell Agritech. Green Queen dates the entity to roughly six months before the August approval.
- 2026 — Thailand factory under development with BBGI and Fermbox Bio; Switzerland’s The Cultured Hub to produce for European operations; Quinn says the Cell Agritech partnership “includes capacity in Penang to support the wider region as demand grows.”
- Now — Rehovot stepped back from, Israeli production route unnamed, Singapore line targeted operational in H1 2027.
Toubia’s framing: “We are targeting our Singapore production line to be operational in the first half of 2027, launching with select restaurant partners.” Retail, Quinn says, “would follow later rather than at launch.”
The shift has a cost that Aleph has not hidden. Green Queen reports the asset-light strategy has led to multiple rounds of layoffs, including one earlier in 2026.
Set against elapsed time, the capital picture is unusually flat. Aleph had raised $118 million by January 2024, following a $105 million Series B in 2021. Green Queen puts the total at $147 million in August 2026 — roughly $29 million over two and a half years, on our arithmetic. A company that had raised $105 million in a single 2021 round has added less than a third of that across the entire period in which it collected its second national approval. That is the funding environment our analysis of why alternative protein funding is narrowing rather than recovering described, seen from inside one balance sheet.
The counter-argument
The strongest objection is that this piece is measuring a deliberate strategy as though it were a failure.
Aleph is not stuck; it has chosen not to own tanks. Toubia is explicit that the Singapore clearance “allows us to move toward scaling-up our commercialisation in Asia on a capital-efficient footing,” and describes an asset-light model executed “with partners in both Switzerland and Singapore, targeting launch in 2027 with a clear focus on the path to profitability.” On that reading, walking away from Rehovot as a production site is the correct response to a capital market that will no longer fund a 10-tonne-a-year plant, and the H1 2027 date is a plan rather than a delay.
The evidence for that reading is decent. Believer Meats built the opposite way — the largest plant in the sector, cleared by both FDA and USDA — and its assets are now being auctioned, as our post-mortem on that shutdown set out. Contract manufacturing is also the route the fermentation side has converged on, which our map of who actually has tanks covers. On 12 August 2026 Green Queen reported that Cultimate Foods, a German cultivated fat startup that had raised €2.3 million in seed funding in 2024, had wound down roughly four months after filing for bankruptcy in April. Citing GFI’s State of the Industry work, the same report puts cultivated meat funding at $74 million in 2025 — close to half the prior year’s total and, on its reading, twenty times below the 2021 peak. In that context, being alive with two approvals and no capex is not a weak position.
The counter-counter is narrower and is the point of this piece. Asset-light transfers the schedule risk to a partner and the regulatory risk back to the file. Aleph’s own words show both: the Israeli GMP condition now applies “to the partner site instead,” and the Singapore line is “modest” at launch while local capacity is expanded. Neither is a criticism. Both are reasons the word “approved” should not be read as “shipping”.
Singapore’s own position has cooled
One piece of context makes the approval less of a tailwind than it looks. Green Queen reports that alternative proteins are no longer part of Singapore’s food strategy, with environment minister Grace Fu citing “higher production costs and weaker-than-expected consumer acceptance globally.” The country is focusing on R&D to make the sector more competitive and mainstream instead.
So the regulator is still approving while the industrial policy has stepped back. Green Queen’s April 2026 report of the same ministerial position appeared alongside the SFA publishing its approved-novel-foods register — a transparency step and a policy retreat in the same month.
Toubia also estimates that a dozen or two other companies have filed dossiers with the SFA, and the April report cites an industry leader predicting up to a dozen awaiting cultivated meat approval. We cannot verify either figure: the register the SFA published lists approvals, not pending applications, and we found no public source for the size of the queue.
What we could not establish
- The exact SFA filing date. Both sources give September 2022 only. Our 47-month figure is therefore accurate to within a month, not a day.
- Whether the SFA dossier named a manufacturing site, and if so which. Aleph had a manufacturing agreement with ESCO Aster in Singapore in 2023 and works with Cell Agritech now. We found no source stating which facility the approved dossier covers, and we do not infer one.
- The identity of the Israeli production partner. Aleph says only that it is in discussions with third parties.
- Whether the Israeli GMP inspection was ever completed at Rehovot. Gavriel says the site “had completed the preparations needed to support GMP” readiness — preparations, not the inspection itself. We do not treat readiness as completion.
- Pricing in either market. Explicitly declined for Singapore. The January 2024 “priced similarly to premium conventional beef” statement referred to the Israeli soft launch.
- The date of the Israeli approval as most trackers will cite it. The IMOH letter was issued in December 2023; the announcement and most coverage are dated 17 January 2024, and FoodNavigator refers only to “2023”. We use December 2023 for the letter and note the announcement date, because a nine-month-versus-year discrepancy in either direction distorts any elapsed-time calculation built on it.
- Whether Aleph has made any commercial sale in Israel. No source we read reports one, and the company’s own three-phase plan places the Israeli restaurant launch in 2027. We state that no sale is reported, not that none occurred.
- The approval against the SFA’s own register. The register the SFA published covers approvals up to October 2025, so Aleph’s clearance is not on the version we have seen. Our confirmation rests on two trade reports of the same day, not on the primary list.
What to watch
Four testable claims, so this piece can be checked rather than admired.
- Cell Agritech’s Singapore line is operational by 30 June 2027. Aleph’s own target. If it slips, the pattern in this article — approval arriving well ahead of production — is structural rather than incidental.
- An Israeli production partner is named. Until it is, the December 2023 approval has no route to a shelf, and the GMP condition has no site.
- A cultivated inclusion rate is published at launch. Aleph has disclosed 10–20% ahead of launch. Whether the shipped product lands in that band, and whether competitors follow with their own figures, will tell you how much of the category’s tonnage is actually cultivated.
- UK or Switzerland decides. Both reviews are underway, and Switzerland is where Aleph says it is preparing its European production base. A Swiss approval with The Cultured Hub named as the producer would be the first case where an Aleph clearance and a live production route arrive together.