Biotech Open Platform (BiOP), the open-access fermentation site that Danone, Michelin and DMC Biotechnologies announced in June 2024, was inaugurated in Clermont-Ferrand on 29 September 2026. Danone’s inauguration release says the first phase cost “more than €20 million” and that the site has “a complete fermentation line with a capacity of up to 15 m³”. The site’s own English home page says something smaller: “Fermentation lines of up to 11 m³, accompanied by a complete Downstream Processing (DSP) line”. The same page’s meta description says “jusqu’à 15 m³”.

That four-cubic-metre gap is the most useful thing about the launch, because the platform is a contract-development site and a customer buys its tank, not its press release. This piece sets the numbers each source gives side by side, compares the 2024 plan with what opened, and says what a scale-up lead should ask before booking time.

What each source says about size

Source Fermentation size stated Other scale statement
Danone/Michelin/DMC/Crédit Agricole release, 12 June 2024 Not given. “an initial demo-scale production line” with a fermenter and purification unit “By 2025”
Danone inauguration release, 2026 “a complete fermentation line with a capacity of up to 15 m³”, plus “semi-industrial purification systems” An investment of “more than €20 million” in the first phase
Michelin inauguration page, 2026 “up to 15 m³”; “more than €20 million invested in its first phase” Scale-up “from 10 grams to 1 tonne of ingredients”; 5,000 m²; 16 employees in 2026
BiOP website, English “Fermentation lines of up to 11 m³” (plural “lines”); meta description “jusqu’à 15 m³” “5,000 m² pilot facility”
Le Courrier des Entreprises, 2026 Modular from laboratory scale up to a complete 15 m³ line 10 g to 1 tonne of ingredients
vegconomist, 30 September 2026 “up to 15 m³” Open to outside clients; €20m first phase

Two things stand out. First, the 15 m³ figure comes from the partners and from every publication that repeated their release; 11 m³ comes from the operating company itself. Second, the 2024 documents never gave a size at all, so there is no earlier number to reconcile either against.

The arithmetic is simple: 11 m³ is about 73% of 15 m³. We cannot tell why the two differ. A common explanation in fermentation is nominal vessel volume against working volume, but no source here says that, and we are not asserting it. What is established is that the platform’s partners and the platform’s website use different numbers for the headline specification.

Practical consequence. When a site publishes “up to” X m³, ask for the working volume of the largest vessel, the number of vessels at each size and what is installed today against what is planned. Do not quote the larger figure in a technical-due-diligence note until the operator confirms it in writing.

The plan in 2024 against the site in 2026

The 2024 release said the partners would invest “over 16 million euro in the first phase” and that “By 2025, the project plans to install an initial demo-scale production line”. Food Ingredients First reported the same release as a demo-scale line with a fermenter and purification equipment, with “Additional equipment, including a second production line” to follow in later years.

What was inaugurated on 29 September 2026 differs on four counts.

June 2024 plan September 2026 opening
First-phase investment “over 16 million euro” “more than €20 million” (about 25% higher)
Equipment Demo-scale line: a fermenter and purification “a complete fermentation line” plus “semi-industrial purification systems”; website refers to “lines”
Timing Line installed by 2025 Inaugurated 29 September 2026
Staffing Not stated 16 employees (Michelin, 2026)

The release and the opening do not necessarily conflict. Installed-by-2025 and inaugurated-in-September-2026 are different milestones, and neither source says when the line first ran. But the investment moved from over €16m to more than €20m, and the equipment described moved from a demo-scale line to one that partners describe as a complete line up to 15 m³. Both changes are in the direction a reader would expect from a project that grew, and neither is explained in the sources we found.

The public funding is named but not sized. Both the 2024 and 2026 releases credit the European Regional Development Fund and Clermont Auvergne Métropole; the 2024 release adds that the fund is managed by the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes Region. No release gives an amount for either, so the share of the €20m that is public money cannot be calculated.

What €20m does and does not buy per cubic metre

It is tempting to divide. €20m over 15 m³ is about €1.33m per cubic metre; over 11 m³ it is about €1.82m. Those figures are not equipment costs. The €20m covers a 5,000 m² site, downstream purification, process-development capability and fit-out to food-production standard, not a tank alone, and the sources do not split it.

They are still a usable ceiling for comparison. In our reporting on MAASH’s Carling demonstrator, a €12.15m financing package funds a 12 m³ demonstration unit, about €1.0m per cubic metre by the same crude division, and that package also covers more than the vessel. Two European pilot-scale sites sit in the same order of magnitude: roughly one to two million euros of total programme cost for each cubic metre of working fermentation. The point of the comparison is not that either is expensive. It is that pilot volume is costly, and that the European Commission’s own strategy places the capacity shortage at the next stage up.

BiOP’s stated range is a useful marker of where it sits in that sequence. A scale-up path “from 10 grams to 1 tonne of ingredients” ends where an industrial campaign begins. One tonne of ingredient is a product-development quantity: enough for application trials and customer samples, not enough to supply a retailer.

Open access is the point, and it is also the constraint

BiOP’s own site describes it as a CDMO/CMO serving start-ups and industrial companies across food-tech and alternative proteins, animal nutrition, cosmetics, agritech and biomaterials. World Bio Market Insights reports that the platform uses dedicated independent teams to safeguard client intellectual property, and Michelin’s page says the site is open to start-ups, industrial companies and R&D organisations. The pitch is a shared, confidential pilot line for people who cannot afford their own.

Two items on the site’s own page deserve a reader’s attention.

  1. Certification is stated two ways. The website’s English page describes the “5,000 m² pilot facility, currently undergoing ISO 22000 certification”, and its Quality & Safety section says “Our pilot facility is currently undergoing ISO 22000 certification.” The page’s French meta description, which is the same one that says “jusqu’à 15 m³”, reads “Installation certifiée ISO 22000, capacités jusqu’à 15 m³”, which says the installation is certified. vegconomist, for its part, quotes the company saying its bioprocess development capabilities meet the standards that apply to food production. These are three different statements: under way, done, and equivalent to. A customer planning to put pilot output into a food product, a regulatory dossier or a commercial sample should ask whether a certificate has been issued, on what date, and what its scope covers.
  2. No price or booking model is published. Neither the website nor any release states a day rate, minimum campaign or capacity allocation. For a site meant to remove a capital barrier, the access terms are the product.

Practical consequence. If you are a scale-up lead choosing between a pilot slot here and a conversion of a legacy plant, the 11 versus 15 m³ question and the ISO status determine how many batches you need, what you can sell from them, and whether the output can leave the building as food.

The case for reading this as good news

The counter-argument is that the discrepancy is cosmetic and the site is exactly what the sector lacks. A shared, food-grade pilot-to-semi-industrial line, built by two large corporates, a biotech partner and a regional bank, lowers the cost of failing early. Michelin’s president is quoted as saying 70% of start-ups fail crossing the valley of death, and the CEO describes scale-up with a cooking analogy: the same recipe for four people and for four hundred is a different problem. A site that makes that crossing cheaper deserves to exist, and a variation between 11 and 15 m³ on a website is easily fixed.

That is a fair reading, and nothing in the sources contradicts the platform’s usefulness. It does not change the finding. The first thing a customer needs from a capacity provider is a vessel size it can plan around, and the provider’s own website and its owners’ press release give two.

What we could not establish

  • Which number is right. We found no source reconciling 11 m³ with 15 m³, no statement of nominal versus working volume, and no count of vessels at each size.
  • How the €20m splits between building, equipment, purification, and start-up costs, and how much of it is public funding. The ERDF and Clermont Auvergne Métropole are named without amounts.
  • When the line first ran. The sources give an inauguration date, 29 September 2026, and the 2024 target of installation by 2025. They do not give a commissioning date.
  • The ISO 22000 status at inauguration. The website says both that certification is under way and, in its French meta description, that the installation is certified; we did not find a certificate or a date.
  • Customers and pricing. No named client, booked campaign or tariff appears in any source we read.
  • Whether DMC Biotechnologies’ Dynamic Metabolic Control technology is required for client projects. It is described as a partner technology; the access terms for processes that do not use it are not stated.

What to watch

  • A corrected or footnoted capacity figure from BiOP or its partners, with working volume and vessel count. Either number can be right; both cannot be the headline.
  • An ISO 22000 certificate and its scope, which decides whether pilot output can go into commercial samples.
  • A first named client, and whether it is a start-up or one of the founding partners. An open platform whose first campaigns are all from its owners is a captive pilot plant.
  • A published access model. Day rates, minimum campaign lengths and IP terms are what separate a service from a showcase.
  • The ERDF award amount, which would show how much of the first phase public money paid for.