Phytokana Ingredients announced on 6 May 2026 that it had signed definitive long-term offtake agreements “representing cumulative contracted revenues of approximately $450 million.” The release is datelined Calgary. It carries no currency code — not “C$”, not “CAD”, not “US$” — and neither does the follow-up release in July, which repeats the same figure.

Three outlets then reported the same sentence three different ways. vegconomist ran it as “$450M” unconverted. Green Queen read it as Canadian dollars and headlined “$330M”. Ten weeks later Green Queen wrote the same book up as “C$450M ($320M today)” — a different USD figure for the same contracts, because the exchange rate had moved.

None of those outlets did anything wrong. The company never said which dollars it meant.

This matters more than a copy-editing quibble, because the number is doing structural work. Phytokana is privately held. There are no filings. The offtake book is the single piece of evidence offered that a 30,000-tonne-a-year processing plant is commercially underwritten, and it is quoted in a unit that has never been specified.

What the primary release actually says

The 6 May release, issued through PR Newswire and CNW, is short. The load-bearing sentence, verbatim:

“These agreements, with terms ranging from three to ten years, represent cumulative contracted revenues of approximately $450 million. When combined with additional Memorandums of Understanding, total potential sales exceed $500 million.”

So: a definitive book of ~$450m, plus MoUs taking the theoretical total past $500m, across contracts of three to ten years. The counterparties are described only as “a diversified group of domestic and international customers.” vegconomist noted the omission plainly in its closing line — “Customer identities, pricing terms, and a facility opening timeline have not been disclosed.”

The 23 July release adds the capital side, and repeats the figure in the same unlabelled form:

“The financing follows the Company’s recent announcement of long-term definitive offtake agreements representing approximately $450 million in contracted revenues, with cumulative sales opportunities exceeding $500 million when combined with executed Memorandums of Understanding.”

Practical consequence: anyone building a comparable set for pulse-protein projects should record this book as unit-unspecified, not as USD. It is the single most common way alternative-protein comparables get quietly corrupted.

The company used a currency code two years ago

The strongest evidence that the omission is a change in practice rather than house style is on Phytokana’s own website. Its 12 June 2024 news item states:

“In May 2024, Phytokana engaged two investment banks to raise approximately C$38 million in a Series C financing.”

Explicit currency code, company-published, on the company’s own domain. The 2026 wire releases dropped it.

The 2022 predecessor release — issued under the earlier name Phyto Organix — also used bare dollars for its “$225 million facility”. So the practice is inconsistent across the company’s history rather than newly abandoned. But the 2024 page establishes that Phytokana knows how to write “C$” when it wants to.

What the ambiguity is worth

The Bank of Canada’s daily rate for 14 August 2026 was 1.3875 Canadian dollars per US dollar. Applying that rate to the reported book:

Reading of “approximately $450 million” In CAD In USD
Figure is Canadian dollars C$450m US$324m (our calculation at 1.3875)
Figure is US dollars C$624m (our calculation at 1.3875) US$450m

The gap between the two readings is 39%. On a book that is the primary demand evidence for a plant going to final investment decision, a 39% band is not a rounding matter.

Green Queen’s two renderings — $330m in May, “$320m today” in July — are both conversions of C$450m at slightly different rates, and illustrate a second-order point that gets lost: a multi-year contracted book denominated in one currency and quoted in another is not a fixed number at all. It drifts with FX for the entire ten-year life of the longest contracts. Neither the release nor any coverage states which side of that exposure sits with Phytokana and which with its customers.

The arithmetic you can and cannot do

The temptation is to divide the book by the plant to get an implied price. It is worth doing carefully, because it shows exactly where the disclosure runs out.

Phytokana’s own operations page gives one number: the facility “will initially source a minimum of 30,000 tonnes per year of novel pulses from central Alberta.” That is bean intake, not protein output. Green Queen described it the same way — 30,000 tonnes of fava beans processed “into protein concentrates and high-protein flours.”

Taking the book at C$450m and spreading it evenly across the stated contract term:

Assumed term Annualised contracted revenue Per tonne of bean intake (CAD) Per tonne (USD at 1.3875)
3 years (shortest stated) C$150m C$5,000 US$3,604
6 years (mid-range) C$75m C$2,500 US$1,802
10 years (longest stated) C$45m C$1,500 US$1,081

Every figure in that table is our calculation, not a disclosed number, and it rests on three assumptions the company has not confirmed:

  1. That the book is CAD. If it is USD, multiply the CAD column by 1.3875.
  2. That the contracts absorb full nameplate throughput. If the book covers only part of output, revenue per contracted tonne is higher than shown — the table is a floor, not an estimate.
  3. That revenue is spread evenly. Contracts of three to ten years, signed at unknown volumes with unknown ramp profiles, almost certainly are not.

The output range — C$1,500 to C$5,000 per tonne of beans in — spans commodity flour pricing at one end and specialty protein-concentrate pricing at the other. That is the finding: the disclosure is compatible with a premium-ingredient business and with a commodity milling business, and cannot distinguish between them. Three undisclosed variables each move it by a factor.

Practical consequence: an ingredient buyer benchmarking faba concentrate cannot use this announcement as a price signal in either direction. A lender can, because it will see the contracts. Everyone else is looking at a number with three free parameters.

What the $25m actually bought

The July financing is more informative than the offtake book, and got a fraction of the attention. Verbatim:

“The financing completes the equity capital required for the Company to proceed to Final Investment Decision (“FID”) for its planned 30,000 metric tonne per annum dry fractionation facility in Strathmore, Alberta.“

Read that sequencing precisely. The raise completes the equity needed to proceed to FID. It is not an FID announcement. As of 23 July 2026 the board had not taken the decision, and we found no subsequent announcement that it has. The release says the company “will now advance final engineering, procurement, and project execution activities in preparation for construction.”

Tailwind Ventures was “sole financial advisor and bookrunner.” The lead investor is described only as “a strategic investor” and is not named. The release states outright that “the terms of the financing have not been disclosed.”

Green Queen, again supplying the currency the company did not, reported the raise as “C$25M ($17.8M).”

The timeline has slipped about two years

The Strathmore Times reported in July 2024 that “the final investment decisions will be taken to the company’s board of directors in the fall” — meaning autumn 2024. Two years later the equity to reach that decision has only just closed. The same 2024 article notes that “construction of the facility, once initiated, is anticipated to take 13 months before it is completed and operational,” a duration that has never been anchored to a start date.

The capex number in circulation belongs to a different plant

Search for Phytokana’s project cost and you will find $225 million. That figure is from the 24 May 2022 release, and it describes a materially different facility:

2022 announcement (as Phyto Organix) Current project
Process Wet fractionation Dry fractionation
Feedstock Yellow peas Faba beans
Throughput 40,000 t/yr 30,000 t/yr
Stated capex $225 million (no currency code) Not disclosed
Operational “When operational in 2024” No date stated

The Strathmore Times confirmed the $225m is historical: “At the time, the anticipated budget for the facility was $225 million.” A wet-fractionation pea plant and a dry-fractionation faba plant are different capital propositions — dry fractionation avoids the aqueous processing and drying trains that dominate wet-milling capex — so the old number is not a usable proxy, and nobody has published a new one.

Practical consequence: any model of this project currently has an undisclosed denominator. A $450m book against a $100m plant and the same book against a $300m plant are different investments, and the public record does not distinguish them.

Government money, correctly attributed

Two public contributions exist and neither is facility capex.

  • Protein Industries Canada, September 2025. A “$32.5 million project” with Vancouver’s Maia Farms to upcycle faba byproducts into mycelium ingredients, of which “$25.9 million will come from the industry partners, and $6.6 million from Protein Industries Canada.” That is an R&D project, not the plant. PIC’s own release describes the facility separately.
  • Canadian Agricultural Partnership, 2022. “$1 million over two years, cost-shared by the federal and provincial governments… to support engineering costs and the purchase of equipment” — attached to the pre-pivot design.

We found no disclosed debt facility, no named lender, and no evidence of Farm Credit Canada or Export Development Canada involvement. Given that the company describes itself as having completed only the equity required for FID, a debt package presumably exists or is being arranged. It has not been announced.

The counter-argument

A fair reading defends the company. Offtake counterparties routinely require confidentiality over volumes and pricing; naming a food manufacturer as a contracted buyer of a pre-construction ingredient can breach the agreement itself. Bare dollar figures are overwhelmingly normal in Canadian wire releases, and a Calgary dateline is a real signal — most readers of a CNW release out of Alberta will assume CAD without being told. The company disclosed something genuinely harder than most pre-FID projects manage: definitive contracts rather than letters of intent, with stated term lengths, plus an explicit distinction between the definitive book and the MoU layer. That distinction is more disclosure discipline than the sector’s norm, not less.

And on the substance, a contracted book of this shape is exactly what lenders now demand. Our survey of offtake agreements in the sector found the opposite failure far more often: companies with signed demand and no capacity to serve it. Phytokana has sequenced it the right way round.

The criticism is narrower than “poor disclosure.” It is that one character — a C — would have removed a 39% ambiguity from the single most-quoted number about this company, at no commercial cost whatsoever. Currency codes are not confidential.

What we could not establish

  • The currency of “$450 million” and “$25 million.” Not stated in any company release. Green Queen asserts CAD for both and converts; we have not independently confirmed it. The Calgary dateline and the company’s own 2024 use of “C$38 million” both point to CAD, but this is inference, not confirmation.
  • Total capital cost of the current facility. Not disclosed anywhere we could find — absent from both 2026 releases, every Phytokana page we retrieved, the PIC release, and local coverage.
  • Whether FID has been taken. The July release describes proceeding to FID. No approval announcement located.
  • Contracted volumes. The book is disclosed in revenue only. Without tonnages, no implied price can be derived — only the bounded range above.
  • Counterparty identities and pricing terms. Explicitly not disclosed.
  • Debt financing. No lender, quantum or structure disclosed.
  • Construction start, commissioning and first-production dates. None stated. Only an unanchored 13-month build duration from July 2024.
  • Product output tonnages. The 30,000 t/yr figure is pulse intake. No protein-output tonnage has been published, and treating the intake figure as protein capacity would overstate output by a large multiple.
  • Whether the offtake book covers full nameplate output. Unstated, which is why the per-tonne table above is a floor.
  • Three URLs in our research returned live but empty responses — Phytokana’s /news/ index, a 2022 PDF hosted on the company’s domain, and an Alberta Farmer Express article. Content on those pages is unverified by us.

What to watch

Four testable claims, each resolvable from public sources:

  1. An FID announcement naming a total project cost. Projects that reach FID normally disclose capex to the market that funds them. If FID is announced without a capex figure, that is itself informative.
  2. A currency code appearing on the next release. The cheapest possible correction.
  3. A debt package. Equity for FID is closed; the construction financing is not public. Its size will reveal the capex the offtake book is supporting.
  4. Whether the MoU layer converts. The gap between the ~$450m definitive book and the “>$500m” total is the MoU tranche. Definitive conversion of those agreements is the cleanest available test of whether the demand is as firm as described.

The broader pattern is one this publication keeps running into: a sector where the headline figure survives repetition better than its basis does. The China fermentation capex claim turned out to rest on a vendor rule of thumb; the HMO price disclosures turned out to be incomparable across suppliers. Here the figure is real, the contracts are described as definitive, and the reporting is faithful to the release. It is the unit that went missing.