Two French precision-fermentation companies raised money this year, five weeks apart, and both announcements were reported as landmark rounds in a difficult market. Verley took “$38 million” in February. Standing Ovation took “$34.2 million” in March. Together, $72 million.
Read the releases and the equity is €25 million in each case — $30 million and $28.5 million, $58.5 million between them. The remaining $13.7 million is what both companies call non-dilutive: €7 million to Verley from Bpifrance, €5 million to Standing Ovation from Bpifrance and, in its words, “a leading banking syndicate.”
Neither announcement says what the non-dilutive money actually is. That single omission is the subject of this piece, because a grant, a repayable advance and a bank loan have nothing in common except that they do not issue shares.
The two rounds, as disclosed
| Verley | Standing Ovation | |
|---|---|---|
| Announced | 24 February 2026 | 31 March 2026 |
| Company’s own framing | “€32 million in a Series A financing round” (via Tech.eu) | “$34.2 million (€30 million) Series B financing round” |
| Equity | €25 million ($30m) — Alven leading, Blast, Sofinnova, Sparkfood, Captech, Founders Future | €25 million ($28.5m) — Ecotechnologies 2 (Bpifrance, France 2030) and Crédit Mutuel Innovation joint leads, with Astanor, Bel Group, Seventure, GoodStartUp, Big Idea Ventures, Danone Ventures, Angelor, Newtree, Noshaq |
| Non-dilutive | €7 million ($8m), Bpifrance | €5 million ($5.7m), Bpifrance and “a leading banking syndicate” |
| Equity as share of announced total | 78% | 83% |
| Instrument behind the non-dilutive tranche | not stated | not stated |
| Implied EUR/USD in the announcement | 1.20 on the equity, 1.14 on the non-dilutive | 1.14 throughout |
| Prior round | founded late 2021 as Bon Vivant | €16 million Series A |
Three things in that table are worth separating out.
The dollar headline is a rounded conversion, and the two components were rounded at different rates. Verley’s €25 million becomes $30 million (1.20) while its €7 million becomes $8 million (1.143); the totals add to $38 million but the rate does not hold across the parts. Standing Ovation’s own release converts consistently at 1.14. The practical effect is that dollar-headline comparisons between European rounds carry a few percent of noise that has nothing to do with the size of the deal. Anyone ranking rounds by dollar figure is partly ranking the exchange rate on the day the press release was written.
The state is on both sides of both deals. Standing Ovation’s equity is led by the Ecotechnologies 2 fund — €300 million of France 2030 money, managed by Bpifrance Investissement, writing tickets of €2–10 million on a pari passu basis alongside private co-investors — and its non-dilutive tranche also comes from Bpifrance. Tech.eu’s account of Verley’s round names “the French Tech Seed fund, managed on behalf of the French government by Bpifrance as part of France 2030” among the equity investors, with Bpifrance again supplying the non-dilutive support. AgFunderNews’s list of Verley’s equity investors does not include French Tech Seed. Both accounts were published on the same day.
The accounts of the same round differ in what they call the round. Tech.eu reports Verley’s Series A as €32 million without splitting it; AgFunderNews reports the same round as “$38m” and splits it 25/7. Neither is wrong. They are answering different questions — how much capital arrived, versus how much of it bought shares — and the answers differ by 27%.
“Non-dilutive” is a category, not an instrument
Bpifrance’s non-dilutive toolkit spans innovation grants, avances récupérables (repayable advances, repaid out of revenue if the project succeeds), zero-interest innovation loans and guarantees on commercial bank lending. The presence of a banking syndicate in Standing Ovation’s €5 million strongly implies at least part of it is debt, because syndicates lend rather than give. But “implies” is as far as the published documents let anyone go.
The distinction is not academic:
- A grant is permanent capital that never appears as a liability.
- A repayable advance is contingent debt whose repayment schedule is tied to commercial milestones — often exactly the milestones a partner is trying to assess.
- A bank loan, even a subsidised one, is senior to every euro of the equity that was announced alongside it, and it consumes cash from the same commercial ramp the round is meant to fund.
Practical consequence. If you are a co-manufacturer being asked to reserve capacity, or a brand negotiating a multi-year supply agreement, the question is not “how much did they raise” but “how much of it must be paid back, and when”. Ask for the instrument, not the total. In both of these cases the answer exists and simply has not been published.
What this does to every sector funding tally
When we counted twenty-three disclosed rounds and $367 million over twelve months, we were adding up announced round sizes, because announced round sizes are what the trackers publish. If a meaningful share of European rounds are structured like these two — roughly a fifth of the headline coming from state non-dilutive support — then sector totals are measuring something other than investor conviction, and the gap will be largest exactly where public co-funding is most generous, which is France.
We are not restating our own tally, because we cannot: doing it properly needs the composition of every round in the set, and most announcements do not give it. What we can say is that the two biggest French fermentation rounds of 2026 both had an equity figure roughly 20% below their headline, and that neither figure was hidden — both were in the announcement, in the second paragraph, for anyone who read past the number in the headline.
This is the same failure mode as two credible counts of alt-protein consolidation differing by a factor of four and an offtake book reported as $450m, $330m and $320m. The underlying disclosure is usually adequate. The aggregation is what loses the definition.
A third pattern: the round that is announced before it closes
There is a milder version of the same thing. In September 2025, ORF Genetics — the Icelandic supplier of barley-produced growth factors — was reported as having “secured €5 million” to scale its MESOkine portfolio, with the company “planning to increase the round to €7 million by mid-October”. The same article notes that “the €5 million funding round remains open, with ORF inviting additional participation to reach €7 million.”
So the announcement contains two numbers: money raised, and a target. Coverage that carries the target as the round size — “eyes €7M total” — is reporting an intention. Anyone building a dataset from headlines has to decide which number to record, and the honest answer is the €5 million, with the €7 million recorded as an open target and revisited later.
Practical consequence. For anyone maintaining a funding tracker: record three fields, not one — equity, non-dilutive, and whether the round is closed. Two of the three are usually available in the primary release. None of the three survives the headline.
The counter-argument
Non-dilutive money is real money, and for a founder it is better money: it funds the same commercial ramp without repricing the company or diluting existing holders. A company that can attract state co-funding in a capital-scarce market has demonstrated something, and it is reasonable for it to announce the total capital it has secured rather than only the share that issued shares.
Both companies here disclosed the split themselves. The failure, if there is one, is not at the company level at all — it is in the downstream aggregation, where a $38 million and a $34.2 million get summed into a sector total and the composition drops out.
There is also a substantive point in favour of both rounds that has nothing to do with structure. Neither company is raising to build a factory. Standing Ovation states plainly that it “made the strategic decision to partner with manufacturers who are experts in fermentation, rather than opening its own facilities”, and its CEO told AgFunderNews that a plant needing “at least 75% of your capacity utilized the first day” is how you “die on the fixed cost after two weeks.” Verley is at the 50 cubic metre stage and needs to go above 150 cubic metres, and is doing it through tech transfer to co-manufacturers. Rounds of this size in 2021 were plant budgets. In 2026 they are commercialisation budgets, which is a different and arguably healthier use of €25 million — and it is consistent with what we found when we mapped who actually owns tanks.
What we could not establish
- The instrument behind either non-dilutive tranche. Grant, repayable advance, subsidised loan or guarantee — no published document we read specifies it for either company.
- Whether the French Tech Seed money sits inside Verley’s €25 million equity or alongside it. Tech.eu names it among the investors in the round; AgFunderNews’s investor list does not include it. We could not reconcile the two from published sources.
- Standing Ovation’s banking syndicate. Unnamed in the release; we found no filing identifying the lenders.
- The composition of other 2026 European fermentation rounds. We only examined rounds where the split was published. That is a selection effect, and it means we cannot say how typical this structure is — only that it is present in the two largest French cases.
- Post-money valuations. Neither round disclosed one, so the dilution implied by €25 million of equity is unknown in both cases.
What to watch
- Whether Bpifrance’s own reporting names the instruments. Bpifrance publishes aggregate activity; if a deal-level breakdown appears, the composition question resolves itself for a large share of the French cohort.
- Standing Ovation’s US commercialisation in 2026, and Europe/Asia from end-2027. These are the milestones a repayable advance would most plausibly be tied to.
- Verley crossing 150 cubic metres. The company said commercial US supply was targeted for Q3 or Q4 of 2026 subject to tech transfer. That deadline is now.
- Whether any 2027 tracker separates equity from non-dilutive. The data exists in the primary releases. Whether anyone aggregates it correctly is a choice, not a constraint.