On 18 February 2025, MOA Foodtech was reported to have secured €14.8 million from the European Innovation Council: a €2.3 million grant plus a commitment to €12.5 million of equity from the EIC Fund, the equity contingent on matching co-investment from private investors.

On 3 September 2026 — 562 days later — the company closed a €3.3 million round. CEO Bosco Emparanza told Green Queen that this includes the first €1 million tranche of that equity commitment, and that it brings total financing raised to €12.3 million.

Two figures worth putting side by side. Of the €12.5 million equity commitment, 8% has been drawn. And the €14.8 million headline announced in a single press cycle is larger than everything the company has raised since it was founded in late 2020.

Neither fact implies anything went wrong. Both are what an EIC blended finance award actually is, as distinct from what the announcement of one sounds like.

Methodology

The €14.8 million composition, the €12.5 million equity figure and its contingency on private matching are from AgFunderNews’s February 2025 report. The €3.3 million round, the €1 million first tranche and the €12.3 million lifetime total are from the September 2026 reports by AgFunderNews and vegconomist, the latter attributing the tranche and total to Emparanza speaking to Green Queen.

The programme mechanics — selection numbers, instrument ranges, disbursement expectations — are from the EIC’s own announcement of the October 2024 cut-off, fetched and read in full. CDTI’s status is from CDTI’s own Innvierte page.

We have not seen a MOA cap table, a grant agreement or an EIC Fund investment agreement. Everything below is arithmetic on published figures, and where a figure is an inference we say so.

What was announced against what has arrived

Component Announced Feb 2025 Status as at 3 Sep 2026
EIC Accelerator grant €2.30m Not separately confirmed
EIC Fund equity commitment €12.50m €1.00m drawn (first tranche)
Headline total €14.80m €1.00m of the equity confirmed drawn
Company lifetime financing raised Not stated in 2025 €12.30m

The September round of €3.3 million comprises the €1 million EIC tranche plus roughly €2.3 million from Swanlaab Innvierte AgriFood Tech and CDTI-Innvierte. The €2.3 million EIC grant is a separate instrument and was not described as part of this round; whether and when it was disbursed has not been stated publicly.

Practical consequence: when a European deeptech company cites an EIC figure, ask three questions — how much is grant, how much is equity, and how much of the equity has closed. The three numbers can be eighteen months and an order of magnitude apart. A term sheet, a supplier credit decision or a competitive assessment built on the headline is built on the wrong number.

Why this is not the same story as the French rounds

We wrote on 22 August that two French fermentation rounds announced $72m and the equity was $58.5m. That was about instrument mixing: a single announcement summing equity, debt and grant into one headline number, so that the risk capital actually committed was smaller than the figure reported.

This is a different mechanism, and it is worth separating them because the diligence response differs.

Here the instruments were disclosed correctly from the start. AgFunderNews reported in February 2025 that the €12.5 million was equity, from the EIC Fund, “contingent on matching co-investment from private investors.” Nothing was mixed and nothing was concealed. The gap is temporal, not compositional: a commitment conditional on a future event, drawn in tranches as that event occurs.

The French case is a reading error you fix by decomposing a number. This one is a reading error you fix by asking for a date.

The EIC’s own numbers say the same thing

The EIC was explicit about disbursement in its announcement of this cut-off: “In most cases, the companies will receive the grant financing within the next three months, while the investment decisions depend on the urgency of the companies’ needs.”

Grant on a schedule, equity on a condition. That is the design.

The footnote to the same announcement goes further. The EIC’s aggregate figure of “approximately €226 million in equity” for the 71 selected companies is marked with a note: these are “estimated amounts based on the track record of the EIC Fund (average investment per company is €3.72m under Horizon Europe), not on amounts requested by company.”

Two things follow. First, the EIC’s own headline equity totals for a cohort are modelled, not committed. Second, the average EIC Fund investment per company under Horizon Europe is €3.72 million — so a €12.5 million commitment is about 3.4 times the programme average. That is a genuinely large award, which is the charitable reading, and also an unusually large one to draw down at the average pace, which is the cautious one.

EIC Accelerator, October 2024 cut-off Figure
Proposals submitted 1,211
Invited to jury interview 431
Selected 71
Taking full blended finance 79%
Grant only 10 companies
Equity only 5 companies
Collective grants up to €161m
Collective equity (estimated) approx. €226m
Average EIC Fund investment per company, Horizon Europe €3.72m

Practical consequence: for anyone benchmarking European fermentation funding, EIC cohort totals should not be added to a market sizing as committed capital. A portion is grant on a schedule, a portion is equity conditional on private matching, and the published equity aggregate is an average-based estimate.

Who counts as the private matching

The EIC equity is contingent on “matching co-investment from private investors.” The September round names three backers: the EIC Fund, Swanlaab Innvierte AgriFood Tech, and CDTI-Innvierte.

CDTI is the Centro para el Desarrollo Tecnológico Industrial, a Spanish public business entity. Its own Innvierte page states that the programme operates through a closed collective investment vehicle, and that “The CDTI-E.P.E, as a promoter of the programme INNVIERTE, is currently the sole shareholder of this society.”

So one of the co-investors alongside EU public equity is a Spanish public body, and the second, Swanlaab Innvierte AgriFood Tech, carries the Innvierte name in its own — the programme’s structure is explicitly to co-invest with approved private managers.

We are not suggesting anything improper; co-investment between EU and national innovation agencies through regulated private managers is the declared purpose of both programmes. The observation is narrower and it is about what the word “private” is doing. A reader who takes “contingent on private matching” as evidence that a commercial investor independently priced the round is reading more into it than the structure supports.

Practical consequence: in European deeptech rounds, check whether the co-investors are public agencies, agency-backed vehicles, or independent commercial funds. Only the third is an independent price signal, and the difference is not visible from the round size.

What has actually been built

It is worth being equally precise about what held, because our own standard is that a publication should report a claim that survived as readily as one that slipped.

In February 2025 Emparanza said: “We’re scaling up in Spain to 100,000 liters and we will be commercially available with our first product in Q2.”

By September 2026, MOA has access to 120,000 litres of bioreactor capacity through manufacturing partners in Spain, rising to 225,000 litres — an 87.5% increase — and has three ingredients commercially available: MOA Q5, an egg replacer and emulsifier; MOA Yeast; and MOA Yeast FeG for pet food. MOA Yeast FeG is in a finished commercial pet food product, though the customer is not disclosed.

The 100,000-litre target was met and exceeded. That is a claim that held, and it is the more notable outcome given how many scale-up timelines in this sector do not.

Two structural points about that capacity. It is contract capacity at a CDMO partner, not owned steel — the same asset-light route we examined in SB1’s partner-led scale-up, and the opposite of the co-location model in mycoprotein capacity being built next to sugar mills. And the strains are non-GMO yeasts with established food-use status in the US and EU, which keeps the products outside novel food authorisation entirely — the regulatory asymmetry we set out in the 15 May 1997 date, not safety, decides which fermentation proteins need EU approval.

A company with no plant to build and no dossier to file has a materially lower capital requirement than most of its peers. That is the strongest argument that €1 million of drawn equity in eighteen months reflects measured need rather than difficulty raising.

The counter-argument

The straightforward reading is that nothing here is a warning sign, and it deserves stating properly.

Tranching is normal. An EIC Fund commitment is a facility, not a wire transfer, and drawing against it in stages as milestones are met is how the instrument is meant to work — for the company as much as the fund, since drawing equity you do not need is dilution you did not have to take. Emparanza said in February 2025 that matching conversations were already under way, and a round did close with the EIC Fund participating, which is evidence the condition was satisfied rather than stuck.

The asset-light model compounds this. MOA is not funding a 15,000-tonne plant; it is buying fermentation slots. Its capital need scales with orders, and it has moved from zero commercial products to three, one of them on shelf. A company that quietly draws 8% of its facility while tripling its product range is arguably executing well, not struggling.

The point of this article is not that MOA is in trouble. It is that “€14.8 million” and “€12.3 million raised in total” describe the same company, and only one of those numbers has been in circulation for the last eighteen months.

What we could not establish

  • Whether the €2.3m grant has been disbursed. The EIC expected grants “within the next three months” of February 2025. Neither MOA nor the EIC has published confirmation for this company, and the September round did not include it.
  • The exact split of the €3.3m round. We infer roughly €2.3m from Swanlaab and CDTI-Innvierte by subtracting the stated €1m EIC tranche from the stated €3.3m total. The individual amounts were not disclosed.
  • What the €12.3m lifetime figure includes. Whether it counts grants, soft loans and public non-dilutive funding alongside equity is not stated. If it includes the €2.3m EIC grant, the equity component of MOA’s lifetime funding is smaller still.
  • The remaining tranche schedule. Neither the milestones nor the dates governing the outstanding €11.5m have been published.
  • Whether Swanlaab Innvierte AgriFood Tech’s capital in this round is public or private in origin. The fund is an approved manager under a public co-investment programme; we did not establish the LP composition of the specific vehicle.
  • Owned versus contracted capacity. Reporting describes 120,000 to 225,000 litres as available “through its manufacturing partners.” We found no statement that MOA owns any fermentation capacity, and none that it does not.

What to watch

  1. The second equity tranche. The single most informative future disclosure. Its size and date convert the €12.5 million commitment from a headline into a schedule.
  2. Whether the 225,000-litre figure becomes a tonnage. Litres of installed volume is a capacity statement; annual tonnes shipped is a business. MOA has published the first and not the second — which, as we found with Calysseo’s 20,000-tonne plant, is the gap where the sector’s real utilisation hides.
  3. The named pet food customer. MOA Yeast FeG is in a commercial product under a confidentiality agreement. A named brand is worth more as validation than any funding figure in this article.
  4. Whether other EIC-backed fermentation companies show the same drawdown pattern. MOA is one company. If the 71-company cohort generally shows single-digit percentages of equity drawn eighteen months on, that is a finding about the instrument rather than about any firm, and it is checkable from the EIC Fund’s list of invested companies.

The testable claim: on this evidence, an EIC Accelerator headline should be read as approximately the grant plus an option on the equity, and the option’s strike is a private round the company still has to raise. We will check MOA’s next tranche against that.